The South-East Queensland Floods

      Save me, O God!
For the waters have come up to my neck.
I sink in deep mire,
where there is no foothold;
I have come into deep waters,
and the flood sweeps over me.
I am weary with my crying out;
my throat is parched.
My eyes grow dim
with waiting for my God.

(Psalm 69:1-3)

South-East Queensland has once again been declared a “disaster zone” as the flood waters rise with cyclone Debbie. Cyclone Debbie has already wreaked havoc across far North Queensland.

For those who have been affected by this disaster, the quote above is most fitting.

Please join me in prayer for those who have suffered the wrath of Debbie:

      Deliver them
from sinking in the mire;
and from the deep waters.
Let not the flood sweep over them,
or the deep swallow them up,
Answer them, God, for your steadfast love is good;
according to your abundant mercy, turn to them.
Do not hide not your face from them,
for they are in distress; make haste to answer them.
Draw near to their lives, save them;
(Psalm 69:14-18)

Red Cross is on the ground in far North Queensland, helping those who have been hit the hardest. Please consider donating to help the Red Cross as they continue to help those who need it most.

Leave a Reply

