Leading by Example

The deeds you do may be the only sermon some persons will hear today ― Francis of Assisi

Recently, when I picked up my son from his Brazillian Jiu Jitsu class another parent made an effort to tell me how well my son was doing. He told me that my son was not only mastering his techniques but also gently and patiently teaching the other children in his class. It was a proud daddy moment. But it also got me thinking about the effect that the Jiu Jitsu club and my son’s instructors have had on his character and maturity.

In an earlier post I discussed the fact that humans are hardwired to imitate others. Psychology and Neuroscience is teaching us that the old adage “do as I say, not as I do” is impossible to follow. True leaders lead by example because followers imitate the actions of leaders. If we are to learn and mature we must first find someone who is learned and mature to observe and imitate. My experience with Brazillian Jiu Jitsu at Infinity Marital Arts has demonstrated how a good coach can have such a positive effect in our lives and the lives of our children. If we care about the sort of people our kids will become, we must ensure their sports coach is someone who is worth of imitating. Which brings me to these guys:

infinity instructors.jpg

These guys, Pat, Tuava, Kieran, Robbie, and Aaron (and Damien who is not pictured here), are not only great instructors but also a great influence on our children. When I think about the sort of people I want to see my children growing up to be, this is about as good as it gets. The fact that numerous other families have also seen the amazingly positive influence these guys have had on their children shows the work that these guys put in really pays off big time. Thankyou guys for all the time and effort you have put into me and my children over the years!

 

 

Leave a Reply

